Posted in Reading Challenge, Reviews

Review: The Collector (Dante Walker #1)

Hello readers!
Today I have my review for the first book I read for #TheReadingQuest. This book applied to the prompt of reading the first book in a series.

I started off with 10 EXP, and I just added another 10 EXP for completing this book, putting me at a total of 20 EXP, meaning that I am still at Level 1.
I began with 10 HP, and I just gained another 35 HP for reading 352 pages, so I now have a total of 45 HP!


The Collector by Victoria Scott
Series: Dante Walker #1
Genre: Young Adult – Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance
Pages: 352
Publication Date: April 2013
My Rating: 3 of 5 stars
Read August 2017


Goodreads Synopsis:
He makes good girls…bad.
Dante Walker is flippin’ awesome, and he knows it. His good looks, killer charm, and stellar confidence have made him one of hell’s best—a soul collector. His job is simple: weed through humanity and label those round rears with a big red good or bad stamp. Old Saint Nick gets the good guys, and he gets the fun ones. Bag-and-tag.
Sealing souls is nothing personal. Dante’s an equal-opportunity collector and doesn’t want it any other way. But he’ll have to adjust, because Boss Man has given him a new assignment:
Collect Charlie Cooper’s soul within ten days.
Dante doesn’t know why Boss Man wants Charlie, nor does he care. This assignment means only one thing to him, and that’s a permanent ticket out of hell. But after Dante meets the quirky Nerd Alert chick he’s come to collect, he realizes this assignment will test his abilities as a collector…and uncover emotions deeply buried.


I am honestly so confused about this one – I just can’t sort out how I feel. There were many elements that I loved, but also many elements that I was not too fond of.

My favourite thing about the book was most definitely Dante’s narration. It was laugh-out-loud hilarious amd the humour was slipped into the narration in a very smooth, sly way that usually took me by surprise. His sense of humour was so, so blatantly honest and mean, and I honestly felt horrible to be laughing. But as I said, it was slipped in so well that it would take me by surprise and I couldn’t help but giggle (or laugh so hard that I cried). Dante was arrogant and cruel but also hilarious. I am so glad that this story was told from his point of view rather than Charlie’s because it was very refreshing as most paranormal romances are told from the mundane girl’s point and because Dante was way funnier than Charlie could ever be.

I really enjoyed the first half of the book, mainly due to Dante’s painfully honest and hilarious perspective. However, as the story progressed, Dante slowly but surely began to truly care for Charlie. It was obvious that this was going to happen, but I found the change to be too fast and his personality flipped unrealistically quickly. He was still funny, but he lost that hilariously cruel edge that made the book both fun and unique. It was still enjoyable, but not as much as the beginning of the story was.

Overall, I did the like the plot of the story quite a lot. I have read a fair few books involving the Underworld, but this one really stood out from those. The whole idea of sealing souls was very interesting and extremely original.
The only issue I had with it was the way that it was explained. I found the world building to be very weak, and the way that soul sealing worked wasn’t very well explained. In fact, it was hardly explained at all. I feel like I was forced to do so much reading between the lines and I really had to fill in the blanks at times. On the bright side, there weren’t any information dumps, which was nice, but in a paranormal novel, you normally need one here and there. I felt confused at time and had to do too much guess work for my liking to figure out exactly what was going on.

The story had a neat and tidy closure that tied up most of the loose ends but still keeps me interested to pick up the second book. The synopsis of the next book does sound pretty good and it seems that we will be seeing a lot more of Dante’s dark side in it, which is something I loved on the first part of the story and dearly missed in the second half of the book. I will definitely be picking up the next books in the series at some point, but they aren’t at the top of my TBR at this time.

Also, why is it that all of the Entangled Teen books that I have seen – such as this one and the Lux series, among many others – have such horrendous covers that make me A) not want to read the book because admit it, we all judge books by their covers, or B) be embarrassed to purchase it or tell others that I have read it? I swear that company is cursed with some of YA’s ugliest covers.

Is The Collector on your TBR?
Have you already read it? What did you think of Dante’s narration? Have you read the rest of the trilogy? Should I move it up on my TBR?
Let’s chat in the comments down below!
Find me on Goodreads here.

5 thoughts on “Review: The Collector (Dante Walker #1)

  1. Happy to see you doing well on your Reading Quest, Daniella! 🙂 I’m sorry this one wasn’t 100% great but at least it got you interested enough to read the sequel, so not all bad!
    And ugh, you’re right. The cover is atrocious and would definitely not make me want to pick this up. I don’t know why publishers keep doing this to themselves.
    Wonderful review ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hahaha your comment about covers is so accurate. I was really interested about reading this when it first came out, but it got bogged down with other books on my TBR List. I think Dante sounds like a hilarious narrator, and it does seem like a good read. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

