Posted in Reviews

Review: Half-Blood (Covenant #1)

Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Covenant #1
Genre: Young Adult – Paranormal, Fantasy, Romance, Mythology
Pages: 281
Publication Date: October 2011
My rating: 4 of 5 stars
Read August 2016

Goodreads Synopsis:
The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures.
Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is.
If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck.


Okay, wow! I’m very pleased. I absolutely love all of the books I have read by Jennifer L. Armentrout, so I can’t say I’m surprised with how great this was. However, it wasn’t perfect. So as much as I loved it, I can’t give it five stars.

My main issue was with how similar it was to the Vampire Academy series by Michelle Mead, and it turns out I’m not the only one who felt this way. The story line, as well as our central characters, were practically identical. As I read, I felt myself comparing the book to VA. Thankfully, it wasn’t too distracting and I was still able to thoroughly enjoy this book.

This is the second time that one of Jennifer’s book series has been strikingly similar to another by a different author (Her Darkest Elements trilogy was very similar to Splintered by A. G. Howard). I find this to be a little bit strange, but I still think she is a fantastic author.

My second issue was the whole Greek mythology aspect. Now, I love Greek mythology, so I was really excited to learn more about it in this book, but I feel like it just didn’t fit in well. If the world building was a little bit stronger, it could have worked. Unfortunately, I found it to be so random and unfitting. I felt like I was just reading a book about people who had superpowers, (which I was fine with) but it would have been better if there wasn’t any Greek Mythology. Period.

But other than the similarity to VA and the not-so-well-done world building, I LOVED THIS BOOK!

Our protagonist Alex was not necessarily the most likeable person from the surface, but as you get to know her and see her softer side, I couldn’t help but like her. She was arrogant, disrespectful, ignorant, vain, irrational, and rude, but she was also funny, feisty, pretty badass, and under her rough exterior, a good person. Though I will say, she could be pretty stupid.

SPOILER ALERT: For example, why would you go after your mother all alone!?! I mean, I know why you did, but it was still a very, very stupid decision.

I also Caleb quite a lot, who was a fantastic friend. He was supportive, caring, protective, and funny.

Then we have Aiden. Oh my goodness gracious, do I ever love him. I loved the tough, badass instructor side of him, but even better than that was the sweet, kind, and protective side he showed for both Alex and his younger brother Deacon. (Speaking of which, I loved Deacon as well. I think that he was wonderfully developed and made a great minor character.) I just think that Jennifer is so incredibly good at making irresistibly fantastic love interests. I’ve got Daemon (my #1 husband), Roth, and now Aiden, and I love them all so much!

Seth is also an interesting character, and I like him, but he is not Aiden. Alex most definitely belongs with Alex, not Seth, and I swear if Alex and Aiden don’t end up together I am going to hunt the author down!

I’m interested to continue learning about Alex’s step-father Luke. There is definitely something not right about him, though I’m not exactly sure what…

Also, did I mention how incredibly addictive this book is? I had great difficulty putting it down, so I flew right through it. The book was just shy of 300 pages, which made for a super quick and easy read, which I really liked.

Anyway, I am very excited to see where this series is going to go! In fact I’ve already begun Pure because I just couldn’t wait, and it is spectacular so far. It isn’t my favourite Jennifer Armentrout book, (The Lux series is practically unbeatable), but it was still very enjoyable. If you have not read any of Jennifer’s books yet, I would suggest reading The Lux series first because it is a bit better, but this one is definitely a good option as well. Happy reading!

P.S. I am absolutely obsessed with the covers of this series! They are absolutely stunning, especiaslly in comparison to Jennifer Armentrout’s other book coveres, which I can’t exactly say I’m a fan of.

Have you read this book? How about any of Jennifer Armentrout’s books?
Did you find any similarities between this book and Vampire Academy by Michele Read?
Are you team Aiden or Team Seth?
Let’s chat about it down in the comments below!
Find me on Goodreads here.

See my reviews for the other books by Jennifer L. Armentrout:
Obsidian (Lux #1)
Onyx (Lux #1)
Opal (Lux #3)
Origin (Lux #4)

Leave a Reply

