Posted in Reviews

Review: Onyx (Lux #2)

Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Genre:
Young Adult –  Science Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Series: Lux #2
Pages: 366
Publication Date: August 2012
My Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Read November 2015

Goodreads Synopsis:
Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…
Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.
Something worse than the Arum has come to town…
The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.
But then everything changes…
I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?
No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies…


Oh. My. Gosh! This. Book. Was. AH-MAY-ZING!!!
I don’t even have to the ability to begin explain how wonderful it was. It was just…wow. Wow!

The plot was fantastic, the writing was very well done, and the characters were just fabulous! EVERYTHING WAS PERFECT!!!!!

And Daemon. Where on earth do I even begin to describe him. He’s just… perfect. Truly, truly, perfect. He was so sarcastic and sassy, and so very infuriatingly arrogant. Most of the things that came out his mouth had me dying of laughter, and if that wasn’t the case it was because they were making melt into a pile of goop. Or I was doing both because he said something sweet and loving yet wonderfully hilarious.
My favourite part with him was probably when he offered Katy the cookie, then said come and get it and stuck half of it in his mouth. I can so perfectly visualize his smirk and that gleam in his eye, and Katy’s horrified and embarrassed, yet sort of intrigued expression.
ALSO, ALSO, ALSO, the Thanksgiving scene! Oh my goodness, just when I thought that I couldn’t possibly love him anymore…
Oh, oh, and the scene with the two of them on Katy’s birthday! It was so sweet, and romantic, and caring, and oh my gosh why wouldn’t she just marry him already?!? I would have!
AND you can’t possible forget about the scene where he filmed the video for her blog with her! I was falling out of my seat with laughter.

SPOILER ALERT: I also loved that part near the end when Katy was trapped and Daemon was literally begging Will to let her go. It was just breaking my heart to see how much Daemon truly cared for her.

And it’s just amazing how one minute Daemon will be all sarcastic and arrogant, and the next he’ll be so loving, sweet and gentle. It’s the best of both worlds!
Also, I literally can not stop thinking about Daemon. No matter what I’m doing, he somehow ends up on my mind. And as much as I try, I just can’t get him out of my head. Not that I’m really complaining that much… I mean, he is pretty wonderful! But in all seriousness, I’m beginning to think that I have a problem.

I really, really loved the plot of this book too. It was a really interesting, super good idea., and it really kept me on the edge of my seat.

Blake got on my nerves a lot though. The entire time I was reading I just kept thinking, “Get away from Katy! She belongs with Daemon!”
And Kat was just driving me insane. Why was she so blind to Daemon’s affection? He was so clearly, madly, insanely, deeply, crazily, in love with her, but she just had to go for Blake. WHY?
But I absolutely adored the rivalry between Blake and Daemon. I found it to be so funny how Daemon would never call Blake by his name. He would call him every name starting with B under the sun, expect for Blake. I also loved the scene when Katy and Blake were on a date and then Daemon showed up and ruined it. And at the end when he said he had seen dolphins kiss hotter than Blake. I was laughing so hard I was crying for that entire scene. Daemon is BY FAR one of the best characters in existence.

And as always, all of the dialogue in the book was super well written, being very realistic and often times humorous. I love me some good witty banter!

I’m SO excited to read Opal and I can’t wait to see how this is all going to play out. And of course, I desperately want need more Daemon!

Is The Lux series on your TBR? (If not, go add it right now!!!!)
Have you already read it? What were your favorite parts?
Let’s discuss in the comments down below!

Find me on Goodreads here.

See my reviews for the other books in the series:
Obsidian (Lux #1)
Opal (Lux #3)
Origin (Lux #4)

Leave a Reply

