Posted in Reviews

Review: Osidian (Lux #1)


Obsidian by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Series: Lux #1
Genre: Young Adult – Science Fiction, Paranormal, Romance
Pages: 335
Publication Date: May 2012
My Rating: 5 of 5 stars
Read November 2015

Goodreads Synopsis:
Starting over sucks.
When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.
And then he opened his mouth.
Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.
The hot alien living next door marks me.
You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.
If I don’t kill him first, that is.


This was amazing! Absolutely, positively, amazing! I can’t even put into words how phenomenal it was. I would give it endless stars out of 5 if I could.

The plot was fantastic, as were the characters!
I thought Katy was a really strong protagonist and I really loved how she was a book blogger. I just thought it was so cool how she often brought up books and compared things to books. And I really loved how edgy and sassy she was, especially around Daemon. She was also a very realistic character that I would love to be friends with.

And Dee was a really interesting character too. I liked how bubbly she was, and her giant appetite always had me laughing.

And then, there’s Daemon… *sigh* I knew from the very second that he opened his door (shirtless I might add) that I’d love him. And that I did. He was just so wonderfully arrogant and sarcastic, yet very loving, caring and gentle! And his extreme levels of sarcasm and sass had me dying of laughter. I literally don’t remember laughing as hard as I did in this book in a while. He was just absolutely hilarious.

I loved the development between him and Katy. There was just so much chemistry and tension there. It was like he was trying to pretend he hated her, but underneath that was an undying love for her. And there were these moments where he’d let it show and… wow, it was just beautiful. And then there were the moments that he was purposely being absolutely infuriating, but those moments were quite beautiful too. In fact, I think any moment that involved Daemon would be beautiful.

One of my favourite scenes in the book was the Homecoming scene. I loved the part when Kat and Simon were dancing and then Daemon stepped in and dance with Kat. I love them together so, so, so much! And then when they were at the party after and Daemon came to help Katy get away from Simon. He cares for her too much for my heart to handle!
I also love all of the pen poking Daemon did to Kat in their math class. Too cute!

Jennifer L. Armentrout is just fantastic at what she does and I can’t wait to read all of her other books.

My only complaint about the book is the cover. It’s sort of pretty, but I just don’t think the models fit the characters well, at least for me anyway. Daemon looks alright, but he’s kind of creepy. Katy is way off! She looks too old and her hair is the wrong color! It’s supposed to be light brown. However, the new special edition covers, which are the ones I own, are a great improvement (though they could still be much better).

Do you want to read the Lux series?
Have your already read it? Did you love it as much as I did? What were your favourite scenes?
Let’s discuss down in the comments below!

Thanks for visiting! I hope you all have a lovely evening; see you soon!
Find me on Goodreads here.

See my reviews for the other books in the series:
Onyx (Lux #2)
Opal (Lux #3)
Origin (Lux #4)


6 thoughts on “Review: Osidian (Lux #1)

  1. Glad you enjoyed this one! Love JLA’s books, and the Obsidian series is such a good one! Katy + Daemon = pure gold! Love these two together, and hope you enjoy the rest of the series! Thanks for stopping by the blog!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Jennifer Armentrout is one of my very favourite authors and I especially love this book! I am obsessively in love with almost all of the books I have read by her. And thank you! This is actually an older review and I have already finished the series and reread some of the books too because it was just that good!

    Like

Leave a Reply

